Week Eleven

Today was the second homeschool day we had this week since we have been so busy with out of the house activities with friends. I packed a lot in but Devin was very willing and happy to do it. He asked to school outside today.

DSCN1026

DSCN1023

I read Weaving the Rainbow, which I chose since we had just read such a nice and informative story about wool earlier in the week. A lovely story about a weaver who raises her sheep well and makes a beautiful picture with their wool.

DSCN1044

I took out our needle felting supplies a few days ago and have been making little things while the children watch.

DSCN1007

I changed this week’s drawing. This is the first time I’ve done that since I really like all the alphabet pictures. Here is the letter W, made out of skeins of yarn:)

DSCN1031

DSCN1034

Next, I read At the Crossroads. The illustrations are beautiful in this story. Boys wait at the village crossroads for their fathers to come home from the mines.

DSCN1051

DSCN1056

We drew our X crossroads in our main lesson books. Our crossroads probably shouldn’t have so much grass but we didn’t think of that at the moment….I rely on the curriculum a lot for the drawings.

DSCN1032

DSCN1035

Devin practiced printing the letters V, W and X in his writing book.

DSCN1030

DSCN1036

Later, we read chapter seven of King Maximo and the Number Knights and drew the shield in our main lesson books. At this point, Devin is getting bored with these chapters. He enjoys writing the poems and making the shields but not much else right now.

DSCN1029

DSCN1033

DSCN1037

Finally, I shared such a special and wonderful book, The Story of the Root Children. It is stunningly illustrated and delightful to read. Devin was laughing so much and really loving it! This was part of the curriculum, not something I added.

DSCN1052

DSCN1054

Leave a comment